japanamanda

memoirs of a gaijin

Adventures at a Creepy Haunted Temple

on March 30, 2012

Okay, so maybe it was just a normal temple. Not too far away from our school, there is a temple on top of a forested mountain. During the day, it’s a peaceful place, good for a view of the city and perhaps some soul-searching if you’re into that. However, in the darkness of night, it is a very different story…

Two of our friends from I-House came back one night after going on a walk near sunset and told us about their latest explorations. This was the first time we heard of this eerie temple, and they were determined to go back the next day as tour guides for a bigger group. And so, the next night, we gathered in the genkan, flashlights in hand.  We set up a strict buddy system, a precaution spurred by the recent incident of losing Stephan.

The group

The group

We set off down the street, and there was a palpable tension hanging over us. We got to Proxy, the other NUFS dorm, and there the beginning of the haunted temple tour awaited us: a narrow set of stairs leading up into the mountain. After some slight arguing over the order of partners going up the stairs (I didn’t want to be the first or the last, of course!), we began our ascent.

It isn’t really the temple itself that is creepy, but the path up to it that is unsettling. After passing a few small grave sites, there is a tiny box of a house right up against the path, and someone actually lives in it. (Or…that’s what I think, at least!)  This is what creeps me out the most out of all of it. There was a low light on, and a window allows you to look directly inside, though I could not see anyone in there. But the thought of this person gave me the chills. Only a person who is crazy and probably kills people with axes could ever possibly live in a tiny wooden house next to graveyards on the path to a haunted temple. Adrenaline pumped through my body as we passed by.

After that, we made it past some more grave sites, but we were all still very much on edge. This mountain path was heavily wooded, and we were constantly hearing rustling sounds nearby. Once we reached the temple, though, we all sort of relaxed. Before going up to the actual temple, we went to the nearby rest area that offered a beautiful view of Nisshin, and took the opportunity for some photos.

Shrine View Point

Shrine pics

However, entering the temple had me creeped out all over again. It was dark, and stray cats were skulking about, scaring all of us. There is also a monk that lives there at the temple, and although we didn’t see him, the thought of him scared me for some reason (Yes, as you may have guessed, I am easily scared, and usually just by my own imagination).

After my nerves settled a bit, though, I was able to appreciate the temple a bit more. We enjoyed the small stream type thing, where you would ladle water down a tube and put your ear against it to listen to the sound of water trickling over rocks. We also went through the process of making a wish inside the temple. This involves tossing some coins into a donation box (not required, but it’s always nice), clapping your hands twice, bowing, and making your wish. Or at least that’s what we thought the process was!

Entrance to the temple

Entrance to the temple

Statue in front of the temple

Statue in front of the temple

After our little tour, one girl suggested we go see the Flaming Buddha. I had no idea what that even meant, but I knew it was something that I had to see for my life to be complete. We went to where the sign pointed to find a tiny cave-like structure. A few of us entered it, flashlights ready, to see the Flaming Buddha!

It was pretty anti-climactic, actually. There wasn’t much “flaming” going on, and as I know nothing about Buddhism, I didn’t understand the meaning and significance of this little statue. After checking out the little guy for a bit longer, we noticed something that was truly horrifying. The entire back wall was crawling with fuzzy brown spots. There were spiders everywhere. Why, Buddha, why?!

I was out of that little cave and down the stairs to the bottom of the temple steps in what must have been 2 seconds. I was flailing and patting myself down, making sure none of those monsters had clung onto me. A minute or two later, the rest of the group joined me, running from the spiders as well. I was eager by this point to return back home, as I could just imagine the army of spiders coming after us. And so, we began the descent back home.

THE FLAMING BUDDHA (If you look closely, you can see all the little spiders behind him)

THE FLAMING BUDDHA (If you look closely, you can see all the spiders behind him)

We took a different path down than we took up, and it was slightly less creepy. Still, it was heavily forested, and graves with haunting baby statues around them scattered the side of the road. We were also passed by a man walking up the path who passed us silently despite our greetings of konbanwa (good evening) to him. This was also a creepy moment for me, but by this point, I was so exhausted that I didn’t seem to have any adrenaline left.

We made it back safely to I-House. Despite the frightening, panicked way we toured the temple, it really is a nice place taken care of by a nice monk. It’s beautiful and also has great views of two different angles of the city. But…that night, I definitely slept with my lights on.


Leave a comment